Brian Paone Interview, Part Two

Last week, I brought you Part One of my interview with Brian Paone, author of Dreams Are Unfinished Thoughts. The book chronicles Paone’s friendship with musician David Reilly, former frontman of God Lives Underwater. Here is the conclusion of our interview. Sounds like he has quite a bit of other interesting material for readers to check out!

paone jpeg

Do you keep in touch with any of the other members of God Lives Underwater?

I am Facebook friends with Jeff Turzo (guitarist and keyboard player). We interact purely through posts; liking posts or commenting on posts, very superficial. Every once in a GREAT while, I’ll exchange an email with Drew McGee (guitarist) but that is so few and far between. I live in Japan and I found out that Scott Garett (drummer on the last 2 albums) was in Tokyo last year for a week on vacation and I tried to contact him to see if he would meet for a drink or something but he never replied. But back when I started writing the book in 2006, Adam Kary (drummer on the first 2 albums), spent a lot of time sending messages back and forth. I have been told, and this is just hearsay, that David’s drug addiction took such a toll on the rest of the guys in the band with just day to day band business, that they have a hard time even talking about him. So I think that has kept me away from REALLY trying to reconnect with these guys… guys that I spent a lot of time with in personal situations that I felt very close with for many years. But it is what it is.

Have you written any other books? Tell me about them.

Yes. Oddly, I joke that David dying was the best thing that ever happened to my writing career. Without this book, I never would have written a full length book, or got published, or had a career as an author in a commercial sense. My second novel, “Welcome to Parkview” came out in 2010. It’s a macabre-style cerebral horror novel about a town where nothing is what it seems, and there are fair amount of things that go bump in the night hiding out with everyday people. My third novel, “Yours Truly, 2095”, just came out last week! It’s a time travel semi-romance mystery story about a man from 1981 who wakes up in 2095, not knowing how he got there, and finds out that his wife from 1981 is also there too… but she’s not really how she originally appears—she really there to stop him from trying to get back to his time and to his real wife. All 3 novels are available in paperback, eBook, and audiobook. And they are available on all major online stores worldwide. There was even trailers made for my first 2 books. Here is a link for the trailer for “Dreams Are Unfinished Thoughts” and the link for the trailer for “Welcome to Parkview”. The trailer for “Yours Truly, 2095” is in production right now. Also, Mike Turner (the guitarist for the band Our Lady Peace) wrote and recorded all the music for the audiobook and the trailer for “Yours Truly, 2095.”

park

Are you working on any new projects– books or music– now?

Well, the last album I released was from my band Transpose back in 2011 called “Retribution.” So it’s been 4 years since I have released any music and I wouldn’t be lying if I said the itch is there to create music again. I have teamed up with a producer and hip-hop composer from Florida named Darius Malloy. We have been writing together since last year and currently I have 12 songs finished; just the music, no vocals. These 12 songs are going to be the songs that make up my first solo album. The next step is to write the lyrics and then record the vocals. I’m hoping to release the album sometime in 2016. My next book project is going to be another non-fiction memoir-based book about the 8 months that my wife was deployed to Africa and I was at home in the states taking care of our 11 month old son and 2 year old daughter. The book is going to be my experience being a male military spouse with 2 toddlers for 8 months and all the chaos than ensued. I’m titling the book “Mr. Navy Wife” and I’m hoping to have that published late-2016 or early-2017.

Finally, I see that you are living in Japan these days. How did that come about?

My wife is an Officer in the Navy and they stationed us here back in 2011. However we are moving back to the states this year. Her time in Japan is coming to an end.

Leave a Reply

